Long Time, No See

Well, hello there little blog project! I’ve missed you! Sorry for the long silence. I’ve just been a little busy growing our family by 2 little itsy-bitsy feet. We certainly have a lot to catch up on! So here’s the rundown on all the happenings around the Krebs house.

Let’s start with introductions shall we. I’d like you to meet Miss Vivienne Violet. She has finally graced us with her presence. Sorry for all the belly aching, but going past your due date is such torture. It took a little convincing from the doctors (aka Pitocin) but she is finally here and couldn’t be more perfect!

http://www.christinehsiehphotography.com/
http://www.christinehsiehphotography.com/

P.S. If you’re looking for a newborn photographer in south central PA, Christine is your gal!

I’m enjoying every moment and just love watching Josie as a big sister. My only grievance is not having more hands. When maternity leave ends (very soon!), I’m sure that will add a whole new level of chaos to our lives. But that’s a worry for another day.

Back to house projects! Here’s the status of various projects we have going on at the moment:

IKEA Dresser Hack

dresser brokeRemember when we dolled up an unfinished dresser from IKEA to rond out the nursery? See the original post here. Well, on Viv’s first night home at around 2 a.m. one of the mirror drawer fronts fell off! As you can imagine, it scared the crap out of me. I popped the other drawer fronts off for fear they would fall too and stub my toe. Maybe we needed more glue?

Let me know if you have any suggestions for attaching the mirrors a bit more securely.

Burst Pipe

I’m VERY happy to report that we have finally closed our claim for the water damage that occurred back in February. Click here to see the damage. Our insurance company was wonderful to work with and very patient with us while some of the paperwork went to the wayside as we welcomed Vivienne. Besides fixing all the water damage, we mae out with a few upgrades 😉 When we moved in, the microwave was the only appliance we didn’t update. It was black so I thought it would work fine in our White and Black Kitchen theme. But this new model just looks so much nicer. It’s also quieter and plays a pretty little tune when the timer is up.microwave

When the new flooring was ready to be installed in the dining room, we chose a dark wide plank floor that is hand-scraped. it looks really nice with the red walls. We would have loved to run the new floors into the kitchen and family room but that would have cost a pretty penny. We’re left with 5 different types of flooring material on the main level which is a bit crazy but there’s always time in the future to address it. dine floor

While we were without a kitchen ceiling, we thought it an opportune time to add some new lighting. We purchased a pendant light for above the sink and a matching 3-pendant light to hang above the kitchen island. They use those cool Edison bulbs!

Last, but not least, we upgraded the dining room chandelier from a dated brass (and now rust covered) piece, to this modern tiered chandelier.

We’re so happy to have our home put back together. ❤

Deck

My new focus has been our back porch. I blame this on the nice warm summer weather and the fact that I’m home all day to enjoy it (could not have planned my maternity leave better). This is an ongoing project so pictures to come with the big reveal but I’ve got a few things in the works.

Besides a little grill and a bistro set with 2 chairs, the deck is bare…and dirty. We need some seating so we can enjoy the pretty view. So I started shopping for some patio furniture sets but was SHOCKED when I found out they cost more than our living room. Then I happened across this little blog on Pinterest for a bench made of cinder blocks and wood. A cheap easy and cute DIY solution for outdoor seating; Sold!

We also hired a guy to power wash the deck. Yes, we could have done it ourselves but that’s code for it would never get done. And it took the guy 4 hours to get all that grime off…and he still has to come back and stain it! Totally worth it. We have 2 beautiful daughters to enjoy so our time is precious.

Josh has talked about putting a picnic table together this summer so we’d have a place to eat outside. I thought I’d take the initiative and order the pieces. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again; I don’t know what I would do without online shopping and free shipping! Lowes offers to assemble the table for an extra $10. I waived the fee thinking that would take the fun out of it. But to my surprise the table arrived 3 days earlier than they said and it was assembled. Guess who just saved $10! HAHA. Josh can still enjoy sealing the wood because it’s unfinished. This may sound crazy, but I’m thinking about painting the table green!

I’ll have pictures to share in the next week or two after our outdoor space starts to take shape.


For now I will leave you with a few more pictures of our beautiful new baby girl who just woke up from her nap. Time for me to go!

Leave a Reply

