Gray is My Favorite Color

Another weekend is here and gone. I always wish we had more time to spend on the house. Or maybe I’m just anxious to move in. The lack of appliances kept us out. But, as of today, everything is installed and operational. Looks like next weekend may be moving weekend. I’ll be happy when it’s done.

I spent this weekend doing laundry….ALL of our laundry. And I enjoyed every minute of it. Yes, you read that right. Our new washer and dryer play a little happy tune when the cycle is finished. Our clothes came out so soft and fluffy. I really missed using a dryer and am really enjoying it now that I have one again. Did I mention they’re red 🙂

The kitchen was the main focus again. The missing hardware arrived and was installed on the cabinet doors. I’m a sucker for black and white. Paint has gone up. I chose a light gray (Benjamin Moore Coventry Gray) in a pearl finish for this room. I sang this song in my head the whole time the paint was going up:

Gotta love the 90’s. Gray is a tricky color to pick out. I think this shade turned out great; not too blue or brown. The space feels more open and much lighter now that the yellow is covered up. Removing the curtains may also have had something to do with that. Josh’s dad also continued building the custom cabinets to the ceiling. His uncle lent an had with his electrical skills to installed the recessed lights and appliances.

lighting
Recessed Lighting

Gorgeous! The lights are on a dimmer switch too. The built in’s need a coat of white paint to polish them off (goodbye yellow). We’re also waiting on doors to arrive from Cabinet Door World. We kicked this builder grade kitchen into high gear with our changes. It’s now much more modern, unique, and much more my style. I now need to find pretty ceramic pieces for display in these amazing cabinets.

Now let me show off our shiny new appliances. They still have the protective wrapping but will be removed once all the painting is finished. It’ll be just like Christmas.

photo 1 (2)
Dishwasher

This dishwasher A.) has hidden buttons so a certain Miss Jocelyn can’t reach them and B.) is QUIET which is great for an open floor plan.

photo 3
Range

This stove has been screaming for me to bake a cake. Soon! I love the clean look of the slide in range. I did purchase a range hood, but the vent wasn’t accessible to the outside. So, instead of creating a massive job, we kept the microwave. Luckily, it matches.

photo 2 (2)
Fridge

The refrigerator is one super cool appliance. I look forward to our first grocery run so I can fill it up. I was a little annoyed at first when Josh insisted we purchase the counter-depth fridge (mostly because they’re more expensive). But now that it’s in the space, a regular size fridge would not have fit. Ok, I’ll say it…he was right 😛

Remember what the kitchen looked like when we bought the place? A little paint and some very knowledgeable family members have really made an impact.

Stove
Before

Josie was so helpful throughout the process and even offered to pick up a paint brush. While she didn’t actually get near any paint, her brush did a little dusting. Maybe I’ll have to set up her room next.

josie painting
Little Helper

Until next time!

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Agreed, it’s my dream to do a house in grey tones. This is super fun to follow! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

