Rock-A-Bye Baby

Busy weekend filled with seeing friends and family, but not much work on the house. I was able to squeeze in a little bit of shopping. We went down to Baltimore yesterday to celebrate 3 very special birthdays. There just so happens to be an IKEA nearby. We stopped by to get a few things on my shopping list. I”m sad to report that it was, by far, the shortest IKEA run ever. We were probably in and out in about half an hour. I had to put my blinders on so I wouldn’t get distracted by the magic that is IKEA. I did, however, spot a rug that would look great in our new dining room. I’m sure we’ll be back again soon. What we did get was a poppy decal and a children’s rocking chair. More details on the decal to come. We also made use of the hanging plant hooks on the front porch. I just hope these don’t die right away. I don’t have much of a green thumb.

Special shoutout to Grandpa Krebs for mowing our lawn!

photo (5)Now Josie is a big fan of rocking chairs. She is guaranteed to sit on Uncle Cal’s rocking chair every time we visit. We also had a hard time prying her away from every rocking chair on every front porch during our house search. She’s also been known to try and rock in non-rocking chairs. So she was overdue for a chair of her own.

I was pleasantly surprised when I pulled the pieces out of the box and was able to put the chair together by myself in less than 5 minutes. Another IKEA first!

photo (4)

I think she likes it!


We scheduled a few contractors to come out next week so that we can get estimates on flooring, cabinets, and counters. Hopefully our vision matches our budget. I’ll report on our plans for upgrades next week after we have a better idea of what we’re going to do.

photo 2

Until then, I’ll stand here and daydream.

Leave a Reply

